Associate Cricket Breaking News Editors Pick Featured News Women's T20 Cricket

Turkey withdraw from Europe Women’s Qualifier

Turkey withdraw from Europe Women’s Qualifier

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today have confirmed that Turkey have withdrawn from the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Europe Qualifier supported by Dream 11 as the necessary approval and travel documentation required due to COVID-19 restrictions for the team was not able to be secured from the Turkish Sports Ministry.

The event due to start tomorrow in La Manga, Spain will now see the Qualifier be played as the five-team tournament with a revised fixture list below. Action from the five-day tournament will be available to fans from across the world through the live stream, details here.

ICC Regional Development Manager – Europe, Andy Wright said: “It is with great regret that Turkey will not be taking part in the Europe Qualifier at La Manga. We have been in communication with the Federation over the past month to provide any assistance to secure their arrival into Spain in time for the event and would like to thank the Federation for their efforts in trying to secure the documentation.

“We have worked closely with the remaining participating teams and the event will now be played as a five-team tournament. We are looking forward to seeing play getting underway tomorrow in what is still set to be a very competitive event.”

The revised Schedule of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier Europe:

26 August 2021 – Netherlands v Scotland (10:30); Ireland v Germany (10:30); France v Netherlands (15:30)

27 August 2021 – Germany v France (10:30); Ireland v Scotland (10:30); Netherlands v Germany (15:30)

28 August 2021 – Rest Day

29 August 2021 – France v Ireland (10:30); Scotland v Germany (10:30)

30 August 2021 – Netherlands v Ireland (10:30); Scotland v France (10:30)