ICC WT20 News

Which country will host T20 World Cup 2026?

Which country will host T20 World Cup 2026?
Image via T20 World Cup

With too many cricket tournaments in line, the fans were wondering which country will host T20 World Cup 2026. Finally, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the co-hosts for the next ICC Men’s event – cricket’s biggest short-format spectacle. The prestigious tournament will be jointly staged by India and Sri Lanka, marking the second consecutive T20 World Cup to be co-hosted, following the upcoming 2024 edition in the West Indies and USA.

This announcement comes alongside the official qualification process for the 2026 tournament. The event will see an expansion to 20 teams, mirroring the format of the 2024 World Cup. This signifies the ICC’s commitment to increasing accessibility and fostering global participation in the shortest format of the game.

Automatic Qualification Path

Twelve teams will secure automatic qualification for the 2026 World Cup. Here’s how the slots will be filled:

  • Co-Hosts (2): India and Sri Lanka, by virtue of hosting duties.
  • Top Performers from 2024 (8): The top eight teams from the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 will gain automatic entry into the 2026 edition. Their performance in the West Indies and USA will determine their qualification.

Remaining Spots and Regional Qualifiers

The remaining eight slots will be determined through two methods:

  • ICC Men’s T20I Rankings (2): Depending on the final positions of India and Sri Lanka in the 2024 World Cup, the next highest-ranked teams in the ICC Men’s T20I rankings as of June 30, 2024, will be awarded automatic qualification. This ensures a balance between strong performances and global representation.
  • Regional Qualifiers (8): The final eight spots will be filled through regional qualifiers. The specific format and participating nations will be announced in due course.

Looking at T20 World Cup 2024

The upcoming T20 World Cup in the West Indies and USA marks a significant milestone for the tournament. With 20 teams participating, the event offers a wider platform for cricketing nations, including first-time qualifiers like USA, Canada, and Uganda. This expansion highlights the growing popularity of T20 cricket across the globe.

In the 2024 edition, 20 teams are set to compete, with automatic qualifiers including the hosts (USA and West Indies), the top eight finishers from the previous edition (Australia, England, Netherlands, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka), two from ICC T20I rankings (Afghanistan and Bangladesh) and eight teams emerging from regional qualifiers (Canada, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Nepal, Oman, Namibia, Uganda). Notably, Zimbabwe, a Test-playing nation, missed out on qualification for the 2024 World Cup, underlining the increasingly competitive nature of T20 cricket.

The co-hosting of the T20 World Cup 2026 by India and Sri Lanka, coupled with the expanded format and revamped qualification process, promises a thrilling cricketing spectacle. With passionate fan bases in both countries, the tournament is poised to be a major global sporting event. The journey to the 2026 World Cup has officially begun, and the cricketing world awaits the teams that will carve their names in T20 history.

Also, see:

PSL 2024: Low attendance at Karachi leg raises concerns