Indian Premier League News

Which teams have not won an IPL trophy yet?

Which teams have not won an IPL trophy yet?
Image via IPL

The glitz, the glamour, the electrifying atmosphere – the Indian Premier League (IPL) has become synonymous with high-octane cricket entertainment. While some teams have established themselves as perennial contenders, hoisting the coveted IPL trophy on multiple occasions, others continue their relentless pursuit of that elusive first title.

This blog looks into the stories of four franchises – Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Delhi Capitals (DC), and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) – who yearn to etch their names on the IPL’s history books.

Teams yet to win an IPL trophy

The Ever-Present Heartbreak: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

RCB, fondly known as the “Men in Red,” boast a passionate fanbase across India. However, despite their immense talent pool, they haven’t been able to translate it into championship glory. Their journey has been marked by near misses, reaching the final thrice in 2009, 2011, and 2016, only to fall short at the final hurdle. Stars like Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers have enthralled audiences with their brilliance, but the elusive trophy remains a thorn in their side. Can RCB break the jinx and finally claim the IPL crown?

The Kings in Search of Their Kingdom: Punjab Kings (PBKS)

Formerly known as Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), the PBKS franchise has witnessed several changes in personnel and leadership over the years. They possess a rich pool of domestic talent, with players like KL Rahul (past) and Mayank Agarwal at the forefront. However, inconsistency has plagued their campaigns, leading to just one final appearance in 2014. Can PBKS find the right balance and finally challenge for the ultimate prize?

A New Dawn, But the Wait Continues: Delhi Capitals (DC)

The Delhi Capitals, previously known as Delhi Daredevils, have undergone a significant transformation in recent years. With Shreyas Iyer leading a young and dynamic squad, they’ve emerged as a force to be reckoned with. Despite reaching the final in 2020, they fell short, highlighting the ruthlessness of the IPL. Can DC learn from their experiences and mount a serious title challenge in the coming seasons?

The New Kid on the Block: Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

The youngest of the four, the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) entered the IPL arena in 2022. While they haven’t had much time to build a legacy, their inaugural season showcased glimpses of their potential. The presence of seasoned campaigners like KL Rahul and Ravi Bishnoi combined with exciting young talent offers promise for the future. Will LSG rise through the ranks and become future IPL champions?

The upcoming IPL final between SRH and KKR serves as a reminder of the ever-changing landscape of the league. While some teams celebrate multiple titles, the hunger for a maiden win burns brightly in these four franchises.

They possess the talent, the passion, and the undying support of their fans. Will the narrative change in the coming years? Only time will tell, but one thing’s for sure – their relentless pursuit of the IPL trophy adds another layer of intrigue and excitement to this dynamic cricketing spectacle.

Also, see:

Sunrisers Hyderabad or Kolkata Knight Riders – Which team has most IPL trophies?