ICC WT20 News

Which Teams Have Qualified for Super Eight Round T20 World Cup 2024?

Which Teams Have Qualified for Super Eight Round T20 World Cup 2024
Image via Getty

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 has reached an exciting juncture as the first round concludes on June 17 with the 40th match. The tournament, hosted across various venues, has seen intense competition among teams to secure their places in the Super Eight round.

With the first round wrapping up, almost all the teams for the Super Eight stage have been decided. Here’s a detailed look at the teams that have qualified and the dynamics of the groups leading up to the Super Eight.

Which Teams Have Qualified for Super Eight Round T20 World Cup 2024?

Group A

In Group A, India and the United States have emerged as the top teams, securing their spots in the Super Eight round. India has been dominant, winning three out of their four matches and ending with seven points and a Net Run Rate (NRR) of +1.137. The United States, despite losing one match, has performed admirably to finish second in the group with five points and an NRR of +0.127.

Unfortunately, Canada, Pakistan, and Ireland have been eliminated, with Canada finishing with three points and Pakistan and Ireland lagging behind with two and one points, respectively.

Group B

Group B has seen Australia and England qualify for the Super Eight. Australia have been unbeaten in the first round, winning all four of their matches and finishing with eight points and an impressive NRR of +2.791. England, with two wins and one no result, secured their spot with five points and an outstanding NRR of +3.611.

Despite Scotland also finishing with five points, their lower NRR of +1.255 meant they could not advance. Namibia and Oman have been eliminated from the tournament.

Group C

In Group C, Afghanistan and the West Indies have dominated, winning all their matches to secure the top two spots. Afghanistan finished with six points and a staggering NRR of +4.230, while the West Indies also ended with six points and an NRR of +2.596.

New Zealand, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea have been knocked out, with New Zealand managing only one win in three matches.

Group D

Group D has been the most competitive, with South Africa already securing their place in the Super Eight by winning all four of their matches. The battle for the second spot is between Bangladesh and the Netherlands. Bangladesh currently has four points with a match against Nepal remaining.

A win will confirm their spot; however, if they lose and the Netherlands win against Sri Lanka, the NRR will come into play. The Netherlands need Bangladesh to lose and must win their own match to have a chance at qualifying. Nepal and Sri Lanka have already been eliminated from the tournament.

Super Eight Groups

The Super Eight round, starting on June 19, will feature the top two teams from each group. These teams are divided into two groups:

Group 1:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. India
  3. Australia
  4. The second qualifier from Group D (likely Bangladesh or the Netherlands)

Group 2:

  1. West Indies
  2. United States
  3. England
  4. South Africa

The Super Eight promises to be an exciting phase of the tournament with the best teams from the first round competing for a spot in the semifinals. Each group will see teams playing against each other, with the top two from each group advancing to the knockout stages. Fans can expect high-quality cricket and intense matches as the teams battle it out for a place in the final.

As the tournament progresses, the performance in the Super Eight will be crucial in determining the ultimate champion of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. The blend of seasoned teams like India, Australia, and England, with emerging cricket nations like the United States, adds an intriguing mix to the competition, ensuring a thrilling cricketing spectacle ahead.

Also, see:

Sri Lanka vs Netherlands Match Preview – T20 World Cup 2024 Match 38 Live-Streaming Details