Pakistan wins the third t20 to restore some pride

Pakistan wins the third t20 to restore some pride
Pakistan wins the third t20 to restore some pride
Pakistani players are jubilant after getting a wicket © CSA/Twitter

PAKISTAN finally did justice to their standing as the No. 1 ranked side in the shortest format when they beat the Standard Bank Proteas by 27 runs in the final KFC T20 International match at SuperSport Park on Wednesday evening.

The result nevertheless had no effect on the outcome of the series which the Proteas took by a 2-1 margin, having won the first two matches.

It enabled Pakistan to restore some pride after having lost both white ball series.

As always, the Pakistan bowlers did a good job for their side, defending a target of 162 with Mohammed Amir, Shadab Khan and Faheem Ashraf sharing 7 wickets between them. But it was the miserly bowling of Imad Wasim and Shaheen Afridi up front that did the real damage.

The Proteas top-order never got going in spite of an innings of 41 (35 balls, 2 fours and 2 sixes) from the ever-reliable Rassie van der Dussen.

Chris Morris backed up his two wickets with a maiden half-century (55 not out off 29 balls, 5 fours and 3 sixes) but he was left with too much to do and the match was effectively settled with an over to spare when the Proteas needed an impossible 40 runs off the last 6 balls.

The other statistical highlight for the Proteas came from Beuran Hendricks who returned career best figures of 4/14.

Shadab Khan was named KFC Man of the Match for his two wickets as well as his batting in the last over of Pakistan’s innings when he hit 21 runs that turned out to be critical with only the No. 11 batsman to partner him.

The KFC Man of the Series award went to South African captain David Miller.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile