Proteas women complete T20i series whitewash

Proteas women complete T20i series whitewash
Proteas women complete T20i series whitewash
South Africa Women Claimed a White-Wash © gsport4girls

The Proteas women secured a comfortable 39-run victory over Sri Lanka to secure a series whitewash in their third and final T20 international fixture at SuperSport Park on Wednesday.

After being put in to bat first, the unchanged South African side posted a hefty 163/5 at the end of their innings thanks to knocks of 38, 36 and 35 from captain Dané van Niekerk, Tazmin Brits and Lara Goodall respectively.

Player of the match, Suné Luus posted 26 runs from 15 deliveries and took one wicket to help their side to their third consecutive victory.

Nineteen year-old Nadine de Klerk was the pick of the bowlers, returning figures of 3/27 in her four-over spell on a day that saw her take her maiden T20 international wicket. She began with the big scalp of Hasini Perera for 13 in the eighth over, followed by two in a row – Imalka Mendis and Nilakshi de Silva for six and none respectively.

Sri Lanka were eventually restricted to 124/8, Shabnim Ismail showing her class and returning figures of 2/11 in her four overs. The second wicket falling off the final delivery of the match to remove Kavisha Dilhari for nine.

The tour moves to Potchefstroom where the teams will meet in a three-match One-Day International series starting this Monday, 11 February. South Africa will look to take their momentum into the next series as they continue their mission to qualify for the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup.

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile