Australia News South Africa T20 Internationals

Maxwell ruled out of SA T20s with injury, Wade returns

Maxwell ruled out of SA T20s

Glenn Maxwell has been forced to fly home from South Africa early due to a setback to the leg he broke last year.

Maxwell was set to miss the ODI leg of the tour anyway to return home for the birth of his first child. He now joins the likes of Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Cameron Green, and David Warner as key white-ball players who will miss at least the T20 leg of the tour.

Maxwell aggravated his ankle during Australia’s first training session in Durban. Medical staff recommended a conservative approach given the 50-over showpiece event is only six weeks away.

Matthew Wade has been called in as Maxwell’s replacement for Australia’s first T20Is since their failed World Cup campaign at home last year.

Wade has previously signaled that his time in Australian gold might be up having enjoyed a late-career resurgence in the shortest format, notably playing a major role in their maiden men’s T20 world title in the UAE in 2021.

However, selection chief George Bailey poured cold water on the notion Australia had moved on from the 35-year-old keeper, suggesting he remains in their plans for a five-match T20 series against India in November.

It suggests Josh Inglis, a rising star on the fringe of all three of Australia’s men’s teams but a first-choice in none, still has competition for the keeping spot for next year’s T20 World Cup in USA and Caribbean. He is expected to get the first crack during the South Africa T20s.

Australia T20 squad: 

Mitchell Marsh (c), Sean Abbott, Jason Behrendorff, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Hardie, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Matt Short, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton Turner, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

South Africa T20 squad: 

Aiden Markram (c), Temba Bavuma, Matthew Breetzke, Dewald Brevis, Gerald Coetzee, Donovan Ferreira, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams, Rassie van der Dussen

2023 Qantas T20s Schedule v South Africa

August 30: First T20I, Durban (August 31, 2 am AEST)

September 1: Second T20I, Durban (September 2, 2 am AEST)

September 3: Third T20I, Durban, September 3, 10 pm AEST