Lanka Premier League Sri Lanka

Babar Azam’s fifty helps Strikers to first win of LPL 2023

Babar Azam's fifty helps Strikers to first win of LPL 2023

The Colombo Strikers and B-Love Kandy played out a very interesting match on July 31, 2023, with the Strikers winning by 27 runs.

The Strikers batted first and posted a challenging 157-6 in their 20 overs, thanks to Babar Azam (59) and Nuwanidu Fernando (28).

The B-Love Kandy were never really in the chase, and they were only able to score 130-8 in 20 overs.

Babar Azam was the star of the show for the Strikers, scoring 59 runs with the bat. He was also named the Player of the Match.

Match Summary B-Love Kandy vs Colombo Strikers

  • Venue: R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
  • Toss: Colombo Strikers won the toss and elected to bat first
  • Scorecard:
    • Colombo Strikers: 157-6 (20 overs)
      • Babar Azam: 59 (52)
      • Nuwanidu Fernando: 28 (31)
      • Isuru Udana: 3-39
    • B-Love Kandy: 130-8 (20 overs)
      • Angelo Mathews: 25 (22)
      • Matheesha Pathirana: 3-24
      • Naseem Shah: 2-19
  • Result: Colombo Strikers won by 27 runs

Player of the Match: Babar Azam (Colombo Strikers)