Pakistan Pakistan Super League

PCB limits contracted players to two T20 leagues in one season

In special cases where a NOC needs to be issued for an additional league, the decision will be taken by a four-member committee.

Pakistan Cricket Board confirmed via an official release that The centrally-contracted Pakistan players will now be allowed to participate in only two foreign T20 leagues.

The decision was taken in a meeting held on May 3 that included Subhan Ahmad (chief operating officer), Muddassar Nazar (director, academies), Inzamam ul Haq (chief selector), Haroon Rashid (director, cricket operations), Shakil Ahmed Shaikh (advisor to chairman of PCB), Saqib Irfan, Sr. (manager, domestic cricket operations).

Until last year, Pakistan’s premier cricketers featured in most of the overseas leagues barring the IPL, but will now have to pick out just two, thereby taking a financial hit.

“Centrally-contracted players will be allowed to participate in two leagues only in a cricket season. The non-contracted players are bound to play at least three domestic first-class matches for them to be entitled to receive NOC,” the PCB said in a statement.

Pakistan’s domestic season goes on between September and March, which rules out playing in BBL, BPL and the T10 league, leaving the room for their participation.

Pakistan Cricket Board also made an amendment to the domestic cricket structure.

The national one-day cricket tournament will be held alongside the four-day first-class event – Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, with a day’s rest between each four-day and one-day fixture.