Preview | Jonathan’s Bengaluru face Amit’s Mysuru in KPL opener

Jonathan's Bengaluru face Amit's Mysuru in KPL opener

Bengaluru, August 15: The eighth edition of the highly-anticipated Redmi Karnataka Premier League gets underway here at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Friday, with Bengaluru Blasters taking on Mysuru Warriors in what promises to be an explosive encounter.

The KSCA marquee T20 event, powered by Dream11, will see the state’s most talented youngsters rub shoulders with their more senior pros as they vie for the coveted trophy and prize money of Rs 10 lakh over the next 16 days.

The KPL will begin with an opening ceremony on Friday, before the first match, and will conclude with the grand finale in Mysuru on August 31.

“Like every year, there is a buzz for the KPL and we, the organisers, the players and the spectators can’t wait for the action to begin,” Sudhakar Rao, Hon. Secretary, KSCA said.

Jonathan Rongsen, who was pouched by the Blasters at the Auction for Rs 6 lakh,  will lead the Blasters as they attempt to claim their first title since being rechristened. The team, formerly called Bangalore Brigadiers, has plenty of young talent in its ranks, with V Koushik, Rohan Kadam and Nikin Jose headlining their act.

The Warriors, led by Amit Verma, aren’t much more seasoned as a side, but they have plenty of players who have been part of the grind for longer.

Aniruddha Joshi, for instance, is one of the finest exponents of batting in the shortest format and he has the numbers for Karnataka to back him up. His domestic conquests have even taken him so far as the Indian Premier League with Royal Challengers Bangalore. That he didn’t get a chance to ply his wares there will only fuel him to put up bigger numbers at this KPL.

If the second-highest grosser in the Auction, with a bid of Rs 7.1 lakh isn’t enough, there is J Suchith, a regular with the Karnataka Ranji side and the Mumbai Indians in the IPL, to bolster the squad. Amit also has D Nischal’s resilient batsmanship to bank on when needed.

Rongsen has plenty to ponder over, and with rain being a cause for concern this time of the year, he has another factor to consider before setting foot on the field for what could be a life-altering season for some and a great platform for others.

Veda to lead Tuskers

Meanwhile, Veda Krishnamurthy will lead Ballari Tuskers as they take on Belagavi Panthers in the opening women’s game on August 18 at the Rail Wheel Factory grounds in Bangalore.

As a part of KSCA’s initiative to raise the profile of women’s cricket in the state, three women’s teams will feature in six games. Ballari, Belagavi and Shivamogga are the KPL teams who have sponsored the women’s sides. The games will run parallel to the KPL on August 18, 19, 20, 22 and 23.

The Panthers will be led by G Divya while Shivamogga Lions named Rakshitha Krishnappa as their skipper. 

The Box Office counters at the stadium will be open between 11 am and 6 pm on Non-Match Days and 11 am to 8 pm on Match Days. Tickets will be sold at Gate No. 18 and Online Ticket Redemption will be done at Gate No. 19.

TEAMS: Bengaluru Blasters vs Mysuru Warriors

Match timings: 7:00 PM

Opening Ceremony: 5:00 PM

Women’s matches:

August 18: Panthers v Tuskers (RWF); August 19th: Shivamogga Lions v Panthers (RRMC); August 20th: Lions v Tuskers (RWF); August 22nd: Lions v Tuskers (RRMC); August 23rd: Panthers v Tuskers (RWF); Lions v Panthers (RWF).

Women’s Match timings: 10:00 AM

Get the latest updates and News follow us on our social media channels




Most Runs (T20s)

1Chris Gayle13296
2Kieron Pollard9966
3Brendon McCullum9922
4Shoaib Malik9653
5David Warner9090

Most Wickets (T20s)

1Dwayne Bravo495
2Lasith Malinga389
3Sunil Narine379
4Imran Tahir355
5Shakib Al Hasan354
6Sohail Tanveer340

Most Runs (T20Is)

1Virat KohliIND2794
2Rohit SharmaIND2773
3Martin GuptillNZ2536
4Shoaib MalikPAK2321
5Brendon McCullumNZ2140

Most Wickets (T20Is)

1Lasith MalangaSL106
2Shahid AfridiPAK98
3Shakib Al HasanBAN92
4Umar GulPAK85
5Saeed AjmalPAK85

Term of Use

Privacy Policy


Copyright © 2016-2020 Home Of T20.

Ads Banner

Social Profile